Blind & Brush

Best Cellular Trail Cameras

A cellular camera is bought to keep you out of the woods, not to take prettier pictures. Ranked on the three things that decide whether it does that job — the plan, the power and the flash — with live prices.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The Moultrie Edge 3 is the cellular trail camera most hunters should buy, because it has the fewest ways to fail. Moultrie publishes a 0.50-second trigger, 100 feet of detection and 100 feet of flash, 40MP stills and built-in memory — which means there is no SD card to buy, forget, corrupt or leave on the truck seat. It is the cheapest pick here and it is also the one with the shortest list of things that can go wrong in November.

If the monthly bill is what has kept you off cellular, buy the SPYPOINT FLEX-M instead. Every SPYPOINT cellular camera includes a free plan at 100 photos a month, which is not enough to run a survey and is plenty to answer the only question most hunters have about a spot: is anything using it in daylight?

The thing to understand before you spend anything is that a cellular camera is not a better camera. It is a camera that saves you a trip. Every pick below is ranked on whether it actually saves that trip — the plan you will pay, the power that keeps it alive unattended, and whether its flash is visible to a deer that already knows it is being watched. Prices come from the live price layer; check the “as of” stamp under each button.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, concealment fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not field-tested this gear — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Moultrie Edge 3 Cellular Trail Camera

Moultrie Edge 3 Cellular Trail Camera

The cellular camera to buy first, and the one that removes the most excuses: 40MP stills, a 0.5-second trigger, 100 feet of detection and flash, built-in memory so there is no SD card to forget, and onboard GPS so you know which camera is calling. It costs about what a good non-cellular camera used to, which is why the honest comparison is no longer cellular versus regular — it is cellular versus walking in.

Best overall
$66.49 · View on Amazon

$99.9934% off

Price as of October 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
SPYPOINT FLEX-M Cellular Trail Camera (SD card pack)

SPYPOINT FLEX-M Cellular Trail Camera (SD card pack)

The cheapest honest way to find out whether cellular scouting changes how you hunt, because SPYPOINT includes a free 100-photo-per-month plan on every cellular camera. A hundred photos a month is not enough to run a survey, but it is plenty to answer the only question most hunters actually have: is anything using this trail in daylight?

Best with no monthly bill
$67.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Tactacam REVEAL X 3.0 Cellular Trail Camera

Tactacam REVEAL X 3.0 Cellular Trail Camera

The cellular camera that answers the two questions the category usually dodges: where do the photos go if the signal drops, and how long does it run. Tactacam publishes 8GB of internal storage with an optional SD card slot on top of it, and power from twelve AA cells — roughly half again the battery bay of an eight-cell camera. That is the camera you hang in September and stop thinking about.

Best for a long unattended run
$99.99 · View on Amazon

$119.9917% off

Price as of October 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
SPYPOINT FLEX-S-DARK Solar Cellular Trail Camera

SPYPOINT FLEX-S-DARK Solar Cellular Trail Camera

The one camera here that removes every reason to walk in: solar power, a no-glow flash a deer cannot see, and SPYPOINT's free 100-photo-a-month plan. For the camera watching a bedding-area entrance you cannot approach in October without burning the sit, that combination is worth more than any megapixel count.

Best for ground you cannot walk
$129.97 · View on Amazon

$149.9913% off

Price as of October 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Stealth Cam Deceptor MAX 3.0

Stealth Cam Deceptor MAX 3.0

The pick for pressured deer, because of one number in the listing: 940nm. That is the no-glow infrared band — the flash that does not show a visible red glow at the lens. On public ground, or on a trail where an older buck already treats a lit camera as a reason to move at night, an invisible flash is worth more than extra megapixels.

Best for pressured deer
$99.99 · View on Amazon

$129.9923% off

Price as of October 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Moultrie Edge 3 Cellular Trail Camera, 2-Pack

Moultrie Edge 3 Cellular Trail Camera, 2-Pack

Two of our top pick in one box, and the right buy for anyone trying to answer a question about a property rather than a question about one trail. Purdue Extension's published deer-survey method asks for roughly one camera per 100 acres, which means a single camera cannot run a survey at all — it can only watch a spot. Compare the live price of the pack against two singles; the pack is usually the cheaper route to two spots.

Best way to cover two spots
$99.00 · View on Amazon

$149.9934% off

Price as of October 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overallCellular trail camera

Moultrie Edge 3 Cellular Trail Camera

The cellular camera to buy first, and the one that removes the most excuses: 40MP stills, a 0.5-second trigger, 100 feet of detection and flash, built-in memory so there is no SD card to forget, and onboard GPS so you know which camera is calling. It costs about what a good non-cellular camera used to, which is why the honest comparison is no longer cellular versus regular — it is cellular versus walking in.

Strengths

  • Built-in memory — no SD card to buy, forget, corrupt or leave in the truck
  • Published 0.5 s trigger and 100 ft detection range, genuinely enough for a field edge
  • Onboard GPS, so a camera you moved in August still tells you where it is in November

Trade-offs

  • Needs a paid data plan to do the one thing you bought it for — budget the plan, not just the camera
  • Moultrie does not publish a battery type, battery life or a waterproof rating for this model
  • Low-glow flash, not no-glow: a deer standing close can see the IR array light up
TypeCellular (all 4 major networks)
Image resolution40 MP
Trigger speed0.50 s
Detection / flash range100 ft / 100 ft
Flash typeLow-glow IR
StorageBuilt-in — no SD card required (capacity not stated)
GPSYes
Waterproof ratingNot published

The spec that matters. Moultrie publishes 40MP, 0.5 s and 100 ft on its own product page but states no battery type, battery life or IP rating, and sells a separate power pack — which tells you the internal cells are not the long-haul answer. Price the plan before you price the camera: over three seasons the subscription is usually the bigger number.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 10, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best with no monthly billCellular trail camera

SPYPOINT FLEX-M Cellular Trail Camera (SD card pack)

The cheapest honest way to find out whether cellular scouting changes how you hunt, because SPYPOINT includes a free 100-photo-per-month plan on every cellular camera. A hundred photos a month is not enough to run a survey, but it is plenty to answer the only question most hunters actually have: is anything using this trail in daylight?

Strengths

  • Free 100-photo-per-month plan included — the only pick here that works with no recurring bill
  • Sold as a pack with the microSD card included, so setup is batteries, card, scan the code
  • 0.4 s published trigger speed, quicker than most cameras at this price

Trade-offs

  • Batteries are still not included — a battery pack or 8 AA cells is on top of the price
  • 720p video capped at 15 seconds: this is a stills camera that also shoots clips
  • Detection range is published as under 90 ft, the shortest of our cellular picks
  • IP65 is water-resistant, not submersible — fine on a tree, not a spec to lean on
TypeCellular (dual-SIM LTE, preactivated)
Image resolution28 MP
Trigger speed0.4 s
Detection / flash rangeUnder 90 ft (28 m)
Video720p with sound, 15 s
StoragemicroSD 2-512 GB (card included in this pack)
PowerBattery pack or 8 AA (not included)
Water resistanceIP65 (listing)
Free plan100 photos / month

The spec that matters. SPYPOINT's free tier is the real feature, and it should be read precisely: 100 photos a month, not 100 a day. Set the camera to a single photo per trigger over a pinch point rather than a three-shot burst over a feeder, or the month's allowance is gone in a weekend. This listing is the camera bundled with its microSD card, which is the version currently in stock.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 24, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best for a long unattended runCellular trail camera

Tactacam REVEAL X 3.0 Cellular Trail Camera

The cellular camera that answers the two questions the category usually dodges: where do the photos go if the signal drops, and how long does it run. Tactacam publishes 8GB of internal storage with an optional SD card slot on top of it, and power from twelve AA cells — roughly half again the battery bay of an eight-cell camera. That is the camera you hang in September and stop thinking about.

Strengths

  • 12 AA cells is the largest published battery bay of any pick here, which is what a long unattended run actually needs
  • 8GB of internal storage PLUS an optional SD card slot — images survive a month of bad signal
  • Published 4K (UHD) and 2.5K (WQHD) photo definition, auto carrier selection and built-in GPS

Trade-offs

  • Twelve AA batteries are not included, and twelve lithium AAs is a real line item on top of the camera
  • Trigger speed is published only as “sub-1/2 second” — vaguer than the 0.3 s and 0.5 s figures its rivals print
  • Tactacam has since shipped an X 4.0, so this is the prior generation of a current lineup — fine at the price, worth knowing first
  • Low-glow IR, not no-glow: a deer standing close can see the flash array light up
TypeCellular LTE, auto carrier selection, integrated SIM
Photo definition4K (UHD) / 2.5K (WQHD)
Video1080p FHD, selectable 10 / 15 / 30 s
Trigger speedSub-1/2 second (no exact figure published)
Detection / flash range96 ft+ / 96 ft (29 m)
Flash typeLow-glow IR
Storage8 GB internal + optional SD card slot
Power12 AA batteries (not included); DC 12V external input
GPSBuilt-in
Waterproof ratingNot published

The spec that matters. Tactacam's own page publishes the storage and the battery bay but no IP or waterproof rating and no exact trigger figure. The storage detail is the one worth acting on: a camera with onboard memory keeps shooting when the network is down, so a dead week of signal costs you the alerts, not the photos.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 24, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best for ground you cannot walkCellular trail camera (solar, no-glow)

SPYPOINT FLEX-S-DARK Solar Cellular Trail Camera

The one camera here that removes every reason to walk in: solar power, a no-glow flash a deer cannot see, and SPYPOINT's free 100-photo-a-month plan. For the camera watching a bedding-area entrance you cannot approach in October without burning the sit, that combination is worth more than any megapixel count.

Strengths

  • Solar plus the free 100-photo plan means no battery trip and no monthly bill
  • No-glow LEDs with SPYPOINT's published 100 ft flash and 100 ft detection range — an invisible flash at full reach
  • Published 0.3 s trigger and 40MP stills, the joint-fastest figures in SPYPOINT's own cellular lineup

Trade-offs

  • SPYPOINT does not publish the solar panel's wattage or the internal battery capacity anywhere on its spec page
  • Solar needs real sky — under a closed canopy the panel is decoration and you are back to batteries
  • 100 free photos a month is about 3 a day: set one photo per trigger, not a burst, or the allowance is gone by the weekend
TypeCellular, multi-network dual SIM, solar
Image resolution40 MP
Video1080p
Trigger speed0.3 s
Detection / flash range100 ft / 100 ft
Flash typeNo-glow LED
Free plan100 photos / month, $0
Solar panel outputNot published
Battery capacityNot published

The spec that matters. SPYPOINT publishes the camera specs in a comparison table but not a single number for the solar hardware that gives the model its name. Mount the panel where it gets midday sun rather than where the camera view is prettiest; a solar camera in full shade behaves exactly like a non-solar camera, and you find that out in November.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 24, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best for pressured deerCellular trail camera (no-glow)

Stealth Cam Deceptor MAX 3.0

The pick for pressured deer, because of one number in the listing: 940nm. That is the no-glow infrared band — the flash that does not show a visible red glow at the lens. On public ground, or on a trail where an older buck already treats a lit camera as a reason to move at night, an invisible flash is worth more than extra megapixels.

Strengths

  • 940nm no-glow LEDs — no visible red glow for a deer, or a passer-by, to notice
  • Published 0.3-second trigger and 50MP stills, the fastest and highest-resolution pick here
  • On-demand image requests and GPS, both stated on the listing

Trade-offs

  • No-glow flash costs night-image brightness and reach — that is physics, not a defect
  • Needs a paid data plan like every other cellular camera on this page
  • Stealth Cam does not publish battery type, battery life or a waterproof rating on this listing
TypeCellular, on-demand image requests
Image resolution50 MP
Video1440p
Trigger speed0.3 s
Detection range100 ft
Flash type940nm no-glow IR
GPSYes
Battery / waterproof ratingNot published

The spec that matters. The 850nm low-glow flash used by most cameras emits a faint red glow at the lens; 940nm does not. Whether deer care is genuinely argued among biologists — what is not argued is that people notice a glowing camera, which matters on public ground where cameras walk off.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 10, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best way to cover two spotsCellular trail camera (2-pack)

Moultrie Edge 3 Cellular Trail Camera, 2-Pack

Two of our top pick in one box, and the right buy for anyone trying to answer a question about a property rather than a question about one trail. Purdue Extension's published deer-survey method asks for roughly one camera per 100 acres, which means a single camera cannot run a survey at all — it can only watch a spot. Compare the live price of the pack against two singles; the pack is usually the cheaper route to two spots.

Strengths

  • Two cameras lets you compare two locations in the same week instead of guessing between them
  • Identical published specs to our top pick — 40MP, 0.5 s trigger, 100 ft detection and flash, GPS, built-in memory
  • Built-in memory on both bodies, so there is no pair of SD cards to buy, label or lose

Trade-offs

  • Two cameras means two data plans — the subscription doubles with the hardware
  • Low-glow flash, so neither body is the right choice for a trail an older buck already avoids
  • Moultrie publishes no battery type, battery life or waterproof rating for the Edge 3
TypeCellular (all 4 major networks), 2 cameras
Image resolution40 MP
Trigger speed0.50 s
Detection / flash range100 ft / 100 ft
Flash typeLow-glow IR
StorageBuilt-in — no SD card required (capacity not stated)
GPSYes
Waterproof ratingNot published

The spec that matters. Two cameras in two places beats one camera in one place, because placement decides whether a photo is useful and nobody picks the right spot first time. Budget two plans before you buy two bodies — over three seasons the subscriptions are the bigger number, not the cameras.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 24, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

What you are actually buying

A trail camera answers a question. A cellular trail camera answers it without you walking in there. That is the entire product. Image quality, burst modes, AI tagging and live view are all downstream of the one thing that matters, which is that your scent, your boots and your truck door stay out of a spot you intend to hunt.

That reframes the buying decision completely. The spec sheet a maker leads with — megapixels — is close to irrelevant: a 40MP image of a deer at 60 feet in the dark is not meaningfully more useful than a 28MP one. The specs that decide whether the camera does its job are the three nobody puts on the front of the box: what the data plan costs over three seasons, how long the camera runs without a visit, and whether the flash gives it away.

The criteria, in the order they decide the buy

1. The plan, priced over three seasons

This is the number that actually separates these cameras, and it is the one every brand buries. Hardware is a one-time cost; the plan is a recurring one. Over three seasons a mid-tier subscription will usually cost more than the camera it feeds, and if you run several cameras it is not close.

SPYPOINT is the only maker here that publishes a genuinely free tier — 100 photos per month per camera at $0, confirmed on its own plan page. Read that figure precisely: 100 a month is a little over three a day. On a feeder or a mineral site with a three-shot burst, the month is spent in a weekend. On a single trail at a pinch point, set to one photo per trigger, 100 is a workable amount of information. Moultrie, Tactacam and Stealth Cam all require a paid plan to do the thing you bought the camera for, so price the subscription before you price the body.

2. Power, measured in trips you do not take

A cellular camera that needs batteries in October has undone its own purpose. Cellular radios draw real current, and the makers are noticeably quiet about the consequences: Moultrie publishes no battery type, no battery life and no waterproof rating for the Edge 3, and sells a separate power pack — which tells you what it thinks of the internal cells.

Two of the picks below attack the problem honestly. Tactacam publishes a twelve-AA battery bay and a DC 12V external input on the Reveal X 3.0, which is the largest stated battery capacity on this page. SPYPOINT puts a solar panel on the FLEX-S-DARK, which removes the battery trip entirely — provided the camera can see sky. Under a closed canopy a solar panel is decoration. Pick your mounting spot for the sun, not for the prettiest camera angle, and accept a short cable run if you have to.

3. The flash, and whether deer notice it

Most cameras use an 850nm low-glow infrared array, which emits a faint red glow at the lens when it fires. A 940nm no-glow array does not. Whether whitetails care is argued among biologists and is not a settled question — what is not argued is that people notice a glowing camera, which matters on public ground where cameras walk off. And on a trail where an older buck has already shifted to full dark, a flash he cannot see is worth more than one that lights up his face.

No-glow costs you reach and night-image brightness. That is physics, not a defect: the same LED power at a longer wavelength puts less visible light on the subject. Two picks here solve it in different ways — the Stealth Cam Deceptor MAX 3.0 pairs 940nm no-glow with the fastest published trigger on the page, and the SPYPOINT FLEX-S-DARK pairs no-glow with solar and the free plan.

4. Trigger speed, and the one spec most makers hide

Trigger speed decides whether you get a photo of a deer or a photo of the brush it walked through. The figures published here run from 0.3 seconds (Stealth Cam Deceptor MAX 3.0, SPYPOINT FLEX-S-DARK) through 0.4 (FLEX-M) and 0.50 (Moultrie Edge 3) to Tactacam’s vaguer “sub-1/2 second.” Any of those will catch a deer that pauses. A deer crossing at a walk is where the difference shows, and it is worth noting which makers decline to publish an exact number at all — it is usually the slow ones.

Recovery time matters almost as much and is published even less often. A camera with a quick trigger and a slow recovery photographs the first deer in a group and misses the buck trailing it. Our full trail-camera roundup covers one non-cellular camera that publishes both figures, which is still rare in this category.

Cellular or not: the honest comparison

The comparison is no longer cellular versus non-cellular on image quality. Good cellular cameras now cost roughly what a good non-cellular camera cost a few years ago. The real comparison is cellular versus walking in, and that depends entirely on the ground.

Buy cellular when the trip is expensive.A camera watching a bedding-area entrance, a staging area inside a small property, or a public-land spot that is a two-mile walk from the truck — those are the cameras worth paying a subscription for, because every card pull costs you scent, noise and sometimes the sit itself. Our guide to hunting small properties makes the same argument about access: on forty acres there is nowhere to make a mistake.

Buy non-cellular when the trip is free. A camera on a field edge you drive past on a tractor, or on a trail you can check on the way out of the woods anyway, does not need a data plan. Spend the subscription money on another camera body instead and cover another trail.

Do not buy cellular to make up for a bad spot.A camera in the wrong place sends you photographs of nothing, faster. Placement, not connectivity, decides whether a photo is useful — see where to put a trail camera before you spend anything. The same caution applies to everything else sold as a shortcut: knowing from your photos that a buck uses a trail is what makes calling at him worth trying at all.

How many cameras, and where

If your question is “what is using this trail,” one camera answers it. If your question is “what lives on this property,” one camera cannot answer it at all.

Purdue University Extension’s published trail-camera survey method asks for roughly one camera per 100 acres, run for 10 to 14 days, mounted about waist height — two and a half to three feet — with the camera faced north or south so the sun does not blow out the frame, burst mode off, and a five to ten minute delay between triggers. It also tells you to check your state’s feeding and baiting law before you put bait anywhere near a camera. That is a real method with real numbers, and the first number tells you that a single camera is a spot-watcher, not a survey.

Two practical consequences. First, the 2-pack below is usually the cheaper route to two locations, which is worth comparing against two single listings at the live price. Second, two cameras means two data plans — the subscription scales with the hardware, and that is the cost that bites in year two.

Set it up so it does not cost you the hunt

Hang it once, in August. Every visit is scent and noise on ground you intend to hunt. Pick the spot, set the camera, and if it is cellular you should not need to come back. Our scouting guide covers the reading-the-ground half of that decision.

Point it along the trail, not across it. A camera square to a trail gets one frame as the deer crosses the detection zone. A camera angled 30 to 45 degrees down the trail keeps the deer in frame for several feet, which covers for a slower trigger and gives you a side profile instead of a rear end.

Turn the burst off and the delay up. This is the single setting that decides whether a free or cheap plan is usable. One photo per trigger with a five-minute delay turns a feeder from a data-plan disaster into a readable log.

Test the signal before you walk away.Every camera here has an app that reports signal strength at the camera. Check it standing at the tree, not from the truck. A spot with no bars is a non-cellular camera with a subscription attached — and this is where Tactacam’s published 8GB of onboard storage earns its place, because the camera keeps recording whether or not the network cooperates.

Mind the law.Trail-camera legality is a state-by-state question and it has moved fast. Utah’s administrative rule R657-5 defines a trail camera as a device not held or operated by a person that captures images, video or location data using heat or motion, restricts where one may be placed or used, and makes it unlawful to buy or sell trail-camera media to take or aid in taking big game. Other states restrict cellular transmission during open season specifically. Read your own regulations for the season you are hunting — and if you hunt public ground, read the camera rules at the same time you read the public-land access rules.

What we did not include, and why

Satellite cameras.They exist and they solve a genuine problem — ground with no cell coverage at all — but they cost more per body and per month than anything here, and the hunter asking “which cellular camera” is almost never the hunter with zero bars.

Security-camera crossovers. A cellular camera sold for driveways will photograph deer, but the detection zone, flash and battery management are tuned for a different job.

Any camera we could not confirm as currently purchasable. Every pick above was checked against a live retail listing before it went on this page, and every spec was read from the maker’s own published page where one exists. Where a figure is not published — battery capacity on the Moultrie, solar output on the SPYPOINT, an IP rating on the Tactacam — the spec table says “Not published,” because that gap is itself a finding about this category.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best cellular trail camera?

The Moultrie Edge 3, for most hunters. Moultrie publishes a 0.50-second trigger, 100 feet of detection and flash, 40MP stills, onboard GPS and built-in memory that removes the SD card entirely — and it is the cheapest pick on this page. If the recurring plan cost is what is stopping you, the SPYPOINT FLEX-M is the better buy because every SPYPOINT cellular camera includes a free 100-photo-per-month plan.

Is there a cellular trail camera without a subscription?

There is no cellular camera that transmits for free forever with unlimited photos, but SPYPOINT includes a free plan at 100 photos per month per camera at $0 on its cellular models, including the FLEX-M and the FLEX-S-DARK. That is roughly three photos a day, which works on a single trail set to one photo per trigger and does not work on a feeder running burst mode. Every other maker here requires a paid plan.

Are cellular trail cameras worth it?

They are worth it when walking in to check the camera is expensive — a bedding-area entrance, a staging area on a small property, a spot two miles from the truck. They are not worth it on a field edge you drive past anyway; there, the money is better spent on a second camera body. A cellular camera does not take better photos, it saves you a trip, so the value depends entirely on what that trip costs you.

How much does a cellular trail camera plan cost?

It varies by maker and by how many photos you send, and it is the number worth checking before you buy the camera. SPYPOINT publishes a tiered structure starting at a free 100-photo plan and rising from there. The useful way to think about it is over three seasons: a mid-tier plan on a single camera will usually cost more than the camera body did, and multiple cameras multiply the plan, not just the hardware.

Do I need a no-glow trail camera?

On pressured ground, probably. A low-glow 850nm array emits a faint red glow when it fires; a no-glow 940nm array does not. Whether deer react to it is genuinely argued among biologists, but people definitely notice a glowing camera, which matters wherever cameras get stolen. The cost is real: no-glow puts less visible light on the subject, so night images are dimmer and reach is shorter. On a private field edge, low-glow is fine.

What is the best solar cellular trail camera?

The SPYPOINT FLEX-S-DARK, because it stacks solar power on top of a no-glow flash and the free 100-photo plan — so the camera needs neither a battery trip nor a monthly bill. The Moultrie Edge 3 bundled with its 3.4W solar pack is the alternative if you prefer Moultrie's longer published flash range and do not need a no-glow flash. Neither works under heavy canopy: a solar panel in full shade behaves exactly like no panel at all.

How many trail cameras do I need for one property?

To watch a spot, one. To survey a property, Purdue Extension's published method asks for roughly one camera per 100 acres, run 10 to 14 days with burst mode off and a five to ten minute delay. That is why a two-pack is often the smarter first purchase on a small property — two cameras in two places tells you something one camera cannot, because placement is what decides whether a photo is useful.

Sources

  • Edge 3 Cellular Trail Camera — published specifications (Moultrie) — Moultrie's own spec table: 40MP, 0.50-second trigger, 100-foot detection and flash range, low-glow flash, built-in memory with no SD card required, onboard GPS — and no published battery type, battery life or waterproof rating (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • FLEX-M cellular trail camera — published specifications (SPYPOINT) — SPYPOINT's spec page: 28MP stills, 0.4-second trigger, detection under 90 feet, 720p/15-second video, dual-SIM LTE preactivated, and the free 100-photo-per-month plan included with every SPYPOINT cellular camera (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • REVEAL X 3.0 trail camera — published specifications (Tactacam) — Tactacam's own product page: LTE with auto carrier selection and an integrated SIM, 4K (UHD) / 2.5K (WQHD) photo definition, 1080p FHD video in selectable 10 / 15 / 30 second clips, a 96 ft (29 m) flash range and 96 ft+ detection, low-glow IR, 8 GB of internal storage with an optional SD card slot, power from 12 AA batteries (not included) plus a DC 12V external input, built-in GPS, 3-shot burst and a 1-year warranty from activation — with trigger speed given only as “sub-1/2 second” and no waterproof or IP rating published at all (accessed October 24, 2026)
  • FLEX-S-DARK solar cellular trail camera — published specifications and plan pricing (SPYPOINT) — SPYPOINT's own cellular comparison table and plan pricing: FLEX-S-DARK at 40MP stills, 1080p video, a 0.3-second trigger, 100 ft flash and 100 ft detection range on no-glow LEDs, multi-network dual-SIM connectivity, Smart Send AI and livestreaming video, plus the free transmission plan at 100 photos per month for $0 and a GPS locator in the app — and no published figure anywhere for the solar panel output or the internal battery capacity (accessed October 24, 2026)
  • Trail Camera Survey for White-tailed Deer (Purdue University Extension, Forestry & Natural Resources) — Purdue Extension's published survey method: one camera per 100 acres, cameras run 10-14 days and checked every 4-5 days, mounted about waist height (2.5-3 feet), bait placed 10-15 feet from the camera, the camera faced north or south to avoid sun over-exposure, burst mode off with a 5-10 minute delay, surveys run late summer before season or late winter after it, and a reminder to check state feeding and baiting law first (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Administrative Rule R657-5, Taking Big Game (Utah Division of Wildlife Resources) — Utah's big-game rule defines a trail camera as a device not held or operated by a person that captures images, video or location data using heat or motion, prohibits placing or using one as restricted by Utah Code 23A-5-307, and makes it unlawful to buy or sell trail-camera media to take or aid in taking big game — proof that camera legality is a state-by-state question, not a settled one (accessed October 10, 2026)

Keep reading