Blind & Brush

XOP vs Tethrd: Saddle Systems Compared

XOP sells the whole system in a box; Tethrd sells a saddle you build around. Which route costs less, which weighs less, and which one publishes the numbers you are buying on.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

If you are buying your first saddle setup, buy XOP’s complete system; if you are buying a saddle to keep, buy Tethrd’s Phantom XP. That is the whole comparison in a sentence, and the reason is not brand quality — it is what is in the box. XOP sells a system: the Mondo saddle harness, the Edge platform, a bridge, a tether, a lineman’s belt and a carry bag, at a published 9.6 lb for the lot. Tethrd sells a saddle: 1 lb 12 oz in the Regular, a stated 300 lb rated capacity, a Micro Quad Lock Utilibridge, and nothing else at all.

So the two sticker prices are not comparable, and that is the mistake this comparison exists to stop. A working Phantom setup is the saddle plus a platform, plus a tether and lineman’s rope, plus sticks. A working XOP setup is the system plussticks. Add the parts before you compare, and the gap narrows a long way — both rows in the table below carry a live price, so you can do that arithmetic today rather than from a review written last season.

What each brand actually sells

XOP’s pitch is completeness.One purchase, everything sized to everything else, 9.6 lb on the label. For a hunter who has never worn a saddle, that removes the single most common way this goes wrong: buying four pieces from four brands and discovering they disagree about where your weight should hang. The trade is that the parts are chosen for you, including the platform — the component most hunters upgrade first.

Tethrd’s pitch is the saddle itself. The Phantom XP is an ultralight expandable-panel saddle that publishes the two numbers that matter most and are hardest to find in this category: what it weighs, and what it is rated to hold. That matters more than it sounds. Two of the four saddles we track publish neither, which means a buyer at the top of a weight range has nothing to check them against. The trade is that the box contains a saddle and your wallet is not finished.

How to read the price difference honestly

Price on this site is always live rather than typed into the copy, because these two move independently and a hardcoded number would be wrong within a week. What does not move is the shape of the comparison: XOP bundles the ropes and the platform, Tethrd does not, and neither includes sticks. If you are pricing both today, price the Phantom alongside a platform and a rope set, and price XOP alongside nothing but sticks. If the Phantom route still comes out ahead for you after that, it is ahead for a real reason.

The two routes, and the two parts you add

The Phantom XP and the XOP complete system are the two routes. The platform and the sticks are what a Phantom buyer adds and what bothbuyers need — neither route includes climbing sticks. Prices are live; check the “as of” stamp under each button.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, concealment fit and value. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not field-tested this gear — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Tethrd Phantom XP Hunting Saddle

Tethrd Phantom XP Hunting Saddle

Tethrd's current Phantom, and the saddle most hunters should start with. The XP keeps the original Phantom's compact footprint with its panel retracted, then lets out a 3.5-inch expandable comfort panel for long sits, at a published 1 lb 12 oz, from the brand most responsible for the category.

Best saddle to keep for years
$274.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
XOP Complete Tree Saddle Hunting System

XOP Complete Tree Saddle Hunting System

The easiest way into saddle hunting: a complete system in one box rather than a bare saddle you have to build a kit around. Harness, platform, carry bag and — the part beginners forget to budget for — the bridge, tether and lineman's belt all arrive matched, which removes the guesswork about what pairs with what.

Best first saddle setup
$217.79 · View on Amazon

$249.9913% off

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Hunter Safety System Legend Platform

Hunter Safety System Legend Platform

The premium platform, and the one that actually publishes its numbers: cast aluminium, rated to 300 lb, 4 lb on your back, a 13.5 x 13.25 in. standing surface and micro-cleat traction. A sloped front edge is designed for the leaning position, which is where a saddle hunter really spends the sit.

The platform a Phantom buyer adds
$229.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
XOP X2 Climbing Sticks (Set of 4)

XOP X2 Climbing Sticks (Set of 4)

The double-step pick. XOP's X2 sticks put two steps per stick, so you climb higher with fewer sticks to carry and hang — a real advantage for a mobile hunter counting every ounce and every noisy attachment. A smart design for run-and-gun.

The sticks neither route includes
$199.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

#1Best saddle to keep for yearsTree saddle

Tethrd Phantom XP Hunting Saddle

Tethrd's current Phantom, and the saddle most hunters should start with. The XP keeps the original Phantom's compact footprint with its panel retracted, then lets out a 3.5-inch expandable comfort panel for long sits, at a published 1 lb 12 oz, from the brand most responsible for the category.

Strengths

  • Published 1 lb 12 oz (Regular) — light enough to carry deep
  • 3.5 in. expandable comfort panel with a lace-lock tensioner for all-day sits
  • Micro Quad Lock bridge adjusts the top and bottom panels independently

Trade-offs

  • A bare saddle — you still need a platform, tether and lineman's belt
  • There's a learning curve to saddle hunting itself
  • The linked Regular size fits a 28-36 in. waist; larger hunters need the XL
TypeUltralight saddle, expandable panel
Includes platform/sticksNo (saddle only)
Rated capacity300 lb
Weight1 lb 12 oz (Regular)
Bridge typeMicro Quad Lock Utilibridge

The spec that matters. A saddle is one part of a system. The Phantom XP is the seat; you still need a climbing method (sticks), a platform to stand on, a tether and a lineman's rope. Buying the saddle alone and expecting to hunt is the beginner's miscalculation.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 10, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best first saddle setupTree saddle system

XOP Complete Tree Saddle Hunting System

The easiest way into saddle hunting: a complete system in one box rather than a bare saddle you have to build a kit around. Harness, platform, carry bag and — the part beginners forget to budget for — the bridge, tether and lineman's belt all arrive matched, which removes the guesswork about what pairs with what.

Strengths

  • Bridge, tether and lineman's belt are included, not sold separately
  • Hybrid harness doubles as a standard fall-arrest system
  • Edge platform is fully levelling, so a leaning tree isn't a problem

Trade-offs

  • Bundled parts may not be exactly what a veteran would choose
  • 9.6 lb as a full kit — heavier than a hand-picked ultralight setup
TypeComplete saddle system
IncludesMondo saddle harness + Edge platform + carry bag
Ropes includedBridge, tether and lineman's belt
Total weight9.6 lb
Rated capacityNot published

The spec that matters. For a first saddle setup, a matched kit beats a pile of separately-bought parts. The single most common beginner failure is a saddle, platform and tether that don't work well together — a complete system sidesteps that entirely.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 23, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3The platform a Phantom buyer addsSaddle platform

Hunter Safety System Legend Platform

The premium platform, and the one that actually publishes its numbers: cast aluminium, rated to 300 lb, 4 lb on your back, a 13.5 x 13.25 in. standing surface and micro-cleat traction. A sloped front edge is designed for the leaning position, which is where a saddle hunter really spends the sit.

Strengths

  • Publishes both numbers that matter — 300 lb rating and 4 lb carry weight
  • Large 13.5 x 13.25 in. cast-aluminium surface with raised micro-cleat traction for wet or icy days
  • Sloped front edge and aggressive edges built for leaning and 360-degree shooting

Trade-offs

  • Premium price for a platform
  • Heavier than the minimalist ring-of-steps approach
TypeStand-on saddle platform
MaterialCast aluminium
Standing surface13.5 x 13.25 in.
Weight4 lb (packs to 3.5 in.)
Rated capacity300 lb

The spec that matters. A big, grippy platform is what turns saddle hunting from hanging-in-the-harness misery into an all-day-comfortable setup. The standing surface is where you spend the whole hunt, so it's worth getting right — and a published weight rating beats a vague 'heavy-duty' claim every time.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 26, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4The sticks neither route includesClimbing sticks (double-step, set of 4)

XOP X2 Climbing Sticks (Set of 4)

The double-step pick. XOP's X2 sticks put two steps per stick, so you climb higher with fewer sticks to carry and hang — a real advantage for a mobile hunter counting every ounce and every noisy attachment. A smart design for run-and-gun.

Strengths

  • Two steps per stick — more height from fewer sticks
  • Fewer attachments means a faster, quieter climb
  • Solid aluminum build from a mobile-hunting specialist

Trade-offs

  • Double steps take a little practice to move on smoothly
  • Priced above the budget single-step sets
MaterialAluminum
Count4 sticks
StepsDouble step
Weight per stickNot published
Rated capacityNot published

The spec that matters. Double-step sticks are the mobile hunter's cheat code: two usable steps per stick means four sticks climb like six, so you carry less and make fewer noisy attachments to get to the same height.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The à la carte trap, and the one-box tax

Both routes have a failure mode, and knowing which one you are more likely to fall into is most of this decision.

The à la carte trap.You buy a well-reviewed saddle, then a platform from a different brand, then a tether because the saddle did not include one, then sticks. Nothing is wrong with any individual piece and the whole thing never feels right — the bridge sits too long, the platform hangs at an angle you cannot fix, the tether is the wrong length for your height. You end up buying a second platform. That is how a “cheaper” build becomes the expensive one.

The one-box tax. A complete system is sized to itself, which means you also inherit its weakest component. If the included platform is the part you outgrow, you have paid for it twice. The honest version of that trade: a first-season hunter does not know which component they will outgrow, so the system is the better bet; a hunter on their third season usually does know, and should buy that part deliberately.

Where the numbers actually come from

Both of these brands make real gear, and one of them tells you more about it. The Phantom XP publishes a weight (1 lb 12 oz, Regular), a rated capacity (300 lb) and its bridge hardware by name. XOP publishes a total system weight (9.6 lb) and a full contents list, but no rated capacity, and its Edge platform publishes no weight of its own. Neither brand’s climbing sticks publish a weight per stick or a rated capacity — that is not a Tethrd or XOP failing so much as a category-wide one, and we go through it in best climbing sticks.

Our rule on specs is the same here as everywhere on this site: a figure the maker does not print renders as Not publishedrather than as an estimate. If you need a rated capacity on paper — and if you are near the top of any stated range, you do — that currently points at the Phantom and at the platforms that state one (the Hunter Safety System Legend at 300 lb, the UIIHUNT at 500 lb).

What this decision does not change

Neither brand solves the thing that actually decides saddle hunts. You are still attached to a tree by rope, and the Tree Stand Safety Awareness Foundation’s ten-state figures are blunt: 99 percent of fall victims were not attached to the tree and 86 percent wore no harness. Wisconsin’s DNR says the same thing in one line — full-body harness or fall-arrest system, every climb, and it notes that roughly one in four bowhunters has fallen or nearly fallen. A saddle is a harness you hunt from, so staying connected on the way up is not optional on either route.

And neither one hangs itself in the right tree. Picking the trunk, judging the lean, choosing your shooting side and getting the platform level matter more than the logo on the panel — how to choose a tree for saddle hunting and saddle hunting mistakes are the free upgrades available to both buyers.

The decision, in one line each

Buy the XOP complete systemif this is your first saddle, if you want one purchase and one published total weight, or if you are not yet sure saddle hunting suits you — it is the cheapest honest way to find out, and nothing in the box needs matching to anything else.

Buy the Tethrd Phantom XPif you already saddle hunt, if you are chasing weight, or if you want the saddle with the numbers on it — then add a platform that publishes a capacity and sticks you have handled. And if you are still deciding whether any of this is worth it, start with is saddle hunting worth it.

Frequently asked questions

Is XOP or Tethrd better for saddle hunting?

They answer different questions. Tethrd's Phantom XP is the better saddle on published numbers — 1 lb 12 oz in the Regular and a stated 300 lb rated capacity, which XOP's system does not publish. XOP's Complete Tree Saddle Hunting System is the better first purchase, because one box gets you a saddle, a platform, a bridge, a tether, a lineman's belt and a carry bag at a published 9.6 lb total, and nothing in it has to be matched to anything else. Buy XOP to start saddle hunting; buy the Phantom if you already know you will keep doing it.

Does the XOP saddle system include climbing sticks?

No. The XOP Complete Tree Saddle Hunting System includes the Mondo saddle harness, the Edge platform, a carry bag and the bridge, tether and lineman's belt. Sticks are a separate purchase for both routes, and they are the heaviest and most expensive part of a mobile setup — budget for them before you compare the two headline prices.

What does the Tethrd Phantom XP not come with?

Everything except the saddle. There is no platform, no sticks and no ropes in the box, so a working Phantom setup is the saddle plus a platform, plus a tether and lineman's rope, plus a way up the tree. That is why the honest comparison is not sticker against sticker — it is a complete XOP system against a Phantom plus three more purchases.

Which one is lighter?

On paper, an a la carte Phantom build. The Phantom XP states 1 lb 12 oz and the lightest platform we track states 3.9 lb, which is about 5 lb 11 oz of saddle and platform; XOP publishes 9.6 lb for its saddle, platform, ropes and bag together. But XOP's figure includes ropes and a bag that the 5 lb 11 oz number does not, and neither brand's sticks publish a weight — so treat the gap as smaller than it looks.

Can you mix XOP and Tethrd gear?

Yes, and most saddle hunters end up doing it. Platforms, tethers and bridges are not brand-locked, and plenty of Phantom owners climb on XOP sticks. The one place to be careful is anything load-bearing: use a tether and lineman's rope rated for the job, follow each maker's retirement schedule, and do not improvise a bridge.

Sources

Keep reading